Back To The Basics

Happy Saturday!!!

Gosh do I love the weekend; the freedom, the fun of it all.  Currently it is raining and gloomy, but I don’t care because I’m in a house, not an office 🙂

This week felt like a rough one.  I should have been excited to hit the 4 month mark for the wedding, and trust me I am, but it also sent me into a tailspin of anxiety over what I have and haven’t left to plan, and then the anxieties carried over into a whole bunch of aspects of my life. Don’t worry, there is a silver lining to this story…

Wednesday evening I met up with my girlfriends for our group workout.  Wednesday was my really rough day, and though I was tempted to cancel, something made me show up.  Well, apparantly all I needed was to spend some active time in good company.  I left the field feeling much more optimistic, got home and ate a nice healthy dinner.  It was still light out so I decided to take myself for a walk.  It was beautiful, it was like an epiphany.  I don’t know.  My neighbourhood is still new to me (we moved in at the beginning of April), and I fell in love with it that night.  It reminded me of camping when I was a little kid.  Birds chirping, chipmunks and squirrels chattering (I think it’s actually called scolding?), grasshoppers buzzing (I don’t know what the technical word is), the far off sound of kids playing, and the glow of the evening sun.  Sometimes a nice walk is all it takes to put life back in perspective.  I finished off my day feeling successful and it carried over into the rest of my week, enabling me to follow through on my workout plan and get a whole list of goals accomplished!!!

I guess the moral of this story is when things in life seem like they’re too much, the best way to calm down and de-stress is to get back to the basics.  For me, the basics are things like a nice walk, a cup of tea and a favorite book, or sitting on the deck and taking some deep breaths.  Find out what your basics are and what kind of impact they have on your wellbeing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

