A Daily Dose of Lemon Water

The first I heard of drinking lemon water to start the day was probably about a year ago.  It was closer to the beginning of my weight loss journey and I heard that lemon water helped to promote weight loss.  I wasn’t very focused on diligently doing this every morning, and simply found it refreshing on days when I remembered to add lemon to my water bottle.

The idea of it always stuck in my head, and upon moving into my new house I thought it would be a good time to implement this as part of my morning routine.  I am on day 15 of drinking 1 tbsp. of lemon juice in a glass of water in the morning and although I’m not having crazy results I’m going to stick with it because I like the routine of it, as I said above it’s refreshing in the morning, and I think it’ll probably take a little bit longer to notice any changes that are happening so I want to keep it up.

Although most of the sources I have listed at the bottom of this post recommend using warm/hot water, I am using room temperature water.  I don’t enjoy warm drinks in the morning, actually hardly ever, and especially not now that summer is just around the corner; so I believe I’m still reaping the benefits since I feel the best about drinking it at room temp.  My one worry is that lemon juice is reported to be harmful to the enamel on your teeth, and the dentist warned me years ago that for whatever reason I am already losing some of the enamel on my teeth.  I have been rinsing my mouth out with water immediately following my lemon water in hopes that it’ll help, and some people recommend drinking though a straw so if this continues to weigh on my mind I may start doing that.

My main reasons for drinking lemon water are:

  • Prevention / relief of stomach upsets
  • Helps to keep skin clear
  • Aids in weight loss
  • Boosts immune system

This is according the information I read on the internet.  There are tons of other benefits to drinking it, but these were the ones that attracted me.

If you do daily lemon water what results have you had and how much do you take per day?

http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-4769/Why-You-Should-Drink-Warm-Water-Lemon.html

http://www.waterbenefitshealth.com/benefits-of-drinking-lemon-water.html

http://lajollamom.com/2011/01/drink-warm-lemon-water-in-the-morning/

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

